Duo

Another wild and woolly day but we ventured into Bantry to do the shop and various other chores. Actually Himself does the work, and after I'd done what I needed to do, I had a bit of an explore.The Sisters of Mercy Convent high above the town (blipped before) is rumoured to be soon undergoing a revamp. I'll believe it when I see it for these rumours have abounded for years. Anyway, it's always a fascinating spot for a gentle trespass  explore. I, in typical fashion, seemed to have gone in the hard way ie through a gap in a hedge, surmounted by brambles and fencing. However, in a little rhododendron dell I came across this rather  enigmatic sight which I liked - something about the angle of two chairs. Less romantic was the rubbish littered around, mainly bottles of varying descriptions. Apart from the sad state of the several large buildings on site, there are also a forlorn grotto and an indecipherable lump of (another) statue - I thought I could detect a foot and a bit of wing. My guess is St Michael.

And there's a new blog

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.