Friday Foto

By drmackem

Among the Living and The Dead (and twoc'ing)

The miseducation of....

A Photo

A Muse
A day among the living and the dead (and twoc’ing)
 
A funeral for my cousin R, which brought me more smiles than tears, we shared my teenage years as neighbours on a farm and I laughed at the memory of that, which included him acquiring a Sparrow Hawk like he was Kes, and me shooting spuggies to feed the rapidly growing raptor.
 
The cemetery and R being lowered beside his older brother all these years after, beside their dad, and our Grandparents, felt like rest at last to someone who had known no rest for so long. 
 
The Wake – hugging and laughing and showing each other photos of other family.
Me with R’s mates “do you remember when B and R nicked the cars from Durham and parked them in the barn?”
R’s mate with a glance of knowing “you’re A aren’t you?” - Prompting a memory long hidden – of the New Years Eve when I aged 17 and involved in twoc’ing the British Gas Van, the memory returned to me as joy and not shame (don’t tell the GMC that).
 
Rest in Peace R and B.
 
A Tune
So I really did laugh out loud as the music started to bring R’s coffin in to the service. A tune that reminded me of more carefree days with R and despite the heresy in the lyrics for me in this place and on this day it was a joyful kind of beauty.

Spirit in The Sky - Norman Greenbaum

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.