Life Savors

By osuzanna

Inlay Guitar

Yesterday, we drove to Phoenix. Even though the weather was quite nice in Las Vegas, it is just a little bit warmer in Phoenix and quite heavenly.  We are staying at a nice resort, although I am not sure why as we have ourselves booked solid with activities elsewhere for the two days we are here.  

Phoenix is a city near and dear to my heart.  My father grew up here and when he was in the Korean War and I was just a tiny girl, my mother and I lived here.  My mother, who was an Australian, met my father during WWII, and after the war, this was where they had their first home together.  Through all the years of travelling while my father was in the military, our home state remained Arizona even though when I left at age 4, I never went back again until I was an adult. My parents spoke fondly of Arizona and we always had a subscription to the magazine "Arizona Highways," which followed us wherever we went and I loved to look at the magical photography of the beautiful Sonoran Desert.  

We lived in an area called Sunnyslope at the base of a small mountain. As it did then and still does, the side of the mountain has a big white "S" on the side of it.  My parents always told me that the S was for me ( I was called Suzy then), but of course, I have read the history and it appears some high schoolers did this in the very early fifties and everyone liked it and kept it....now some 65+ years later.

A new museum in Phoenix in the last 10 years is the Musical Instrument Museum (MIM).  My husband, a huge melophile, mentioned that we should go there and so we did, but I wasn't sure what I expected.  It is an extraordinary place.  It is very large and one needs to allow 4-6 hours to visit.  There are musical instruments from every country in the world arranged in huge rooms by continents and smaller displays by countries.    When you pay your admission they outfit you with a headset and audio player.  As you visit each country's exhibit, there is a large screen and when you walk near it you get the sound from the continuous video that runs showing four to six15-20 second clips of the various instruments being played.  What a brilliant idea!  Of course, if you are going to have a musical instrument museum, you must be able to hear them.  No pushing buttons, rewinding or fast-forwarding.  One only has to walk up to the display.  I can't recommend this museum enough.  We did not allow enough time and so we will have to go back again.  We don't mind - we like visiting Phoenix. 

I was so engrossed in the music, I didn't take many photos, but this guitar made of inlaid mother of pearl was absolutely exquisite. This was in the North American, United States section and was actually made in Maryland. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.