Kiteseeker

By Kiteseeker

Up on t’moor’

A trip over the Moors this morning to Ayton Moor near to the Captain Cook monument and Roseberry Topping for Orienteering. The most direct route was through Westerdale and involved a ford crossing. I did stop to have a look in the squally conditions. I could see the bottom and decided to try my luck. No problem and it wants not much deeper than some of the flooded sections of road I encountered. Lots of pheasants and one hare encountered on the way.

Met up with orienteering friend and Blipper Sheila who kindly brought a Ravensburger Jigsaw to swap. Unfortunately mine was still sat at home. Sorry Sheila.

Arrived in rain but very lucky that by the time we started it had stopped. Opted to do the green course which is longer than my new age group course. A steep climb to start but very well planned (thanks to Chris Wright) with lots of changes in direction. Just over 5km run with 169m of climb. After a Parkrun yesterday and not the best of sleeps my legs didn’t have much bounce.

I do like Swaledales and felt this summed up my journey today. The road you see is the one I travelled in both directions.

Out this evening to see Matthew, Mary and Mary’s parents Simon and Joe. So will catch up later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.