Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Transfiguration?

Another Sunday - changeable weather, usual church-walk-eat sort of day, younger son's birthday celebrated on the other side of the country. And the Feast of the Transfiguration celebrated just before Lent, instead of the beginning of August, where I still feel it belongs, on Hiroshima day when warfare was transfigured by the first belligerent use of an atomic weapon. I can see the sense of putting it now, to reflect on before the time leading up to Easter, but I can't get used to it.

It's still three weeks till we should be going on holiday, three weeks in which to follow the progress of Covid -19 and wonder if it's going to stop us going anywhere. As it is Italy has now shut down the area where we have another holiday booked, in Lombardy, though that one is three months away. I maintain we just have to live as though it's all going to be fine, instead of wasting months of emotional energy in the meantime. There is a tendency to say "oh, it's mostly old people who are dying..." and then look at ourselves and remember that we qualify ...

Blipping the view out of my window this morning, a view I hung out into the just-coming-on-again snow to take. A huge floating crane is being nudged across the Firth just as the entire scene is about to disappear; I have a feeling it may be the one that was being used on the Western Ferries terminal upgrade. Mainly I was pleased with the definition of the snow as it flew past; my camera captures that much better than my phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.