People at Work before dawn

An entry for the People at Work challenge.

I have a day in Dundee today. Normally this means getting the 08:09 train from Stirling direct to Dundee. Today though it means a bus replacement to Perth and then an onwards train. The problem is that the heavy rain and flooding have damaged a bridge just north of Stirling and the line has to close till engineers can inspect and repair it. This hasn't been possible so far because the water level is still too high.

I'd resigned myself to driving to Dundee today though this isn't my favourite activity. But now the forecast is for snow, heavy in places, so I decided to go for the bus/train combo.

There is no snow but it's raining hard again. It's well before 07:00 and people are grumpy. Everyone except the driver who is cheery and helpful. He must have been up well before any of his passengers but still has a smile and a joke for us all.

I can't see the bridge being fixed quickly so I might have to get used to this. On the positive side work today looks interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.