The Collector

By Collector

Greetings! Vintage Blackpool rocket ship

Today I set out with a busy day ahead, and also to find that elusive interesting 'One Street' shot for my Journal, then something else happened along.
I can never pass by a charity shop without going in, especially when I get that 'feeling' there's something particular in there just for me...and today I found 7 beautiful old 50s, 60s and 70s colour tinted photograph postcards of the Blackpool Illuminations.
They have a soft dreamy quality, and I think the Illuminations must have been rather prettier then than now. My favourites are the 2 oldest, featuring photos of illuminated space rockets.
In the photo you can see the most surreal....almost a 1920's / 30's sci-fi vision, quaint spacemen with Elizabethan tunics, tights, and half-moon helmets, fairies with golden stars over their heads, then 50's/60's 'modern' spacious cockpit scene with a strange blue light, through a large cut-away window.

So lovely, so kitsch, I like them all so much, this is probably the birth of a new collection! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.