KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Mystical Creature from the Deep?

I absolutely love these plants - Pulsatilla vulgaris - common name Pasque Flower. From the moment the bud starts to form in its hairy wonder-ness to its beautiful purple bloom and then the seed head (oh you'll see more of this!) it fascinates me. So furry and sweet....it transcends plant life into some mysterious creature from outer space or the deep seas. 

I've had one plant for several years that out-performs itself every year. Then last year a seedling popped up! I have no idea if it will run true to the parent - I don't know if this is a hybrid. So we'll see! This blip is actually the seedling - the parent plant isn't as far along for some reason (they're only about a foot apart!)

What do you think? 

If you'd like to know more about this favorite plant of mine, you can read about it here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.