Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

The Train without a Driver

Another fun day on the trains.  I was up at ridiculous o'clock to head to Berkshire for an important external assessment.  The trip down got off to a fine start, not enough carriages, so my seat reservation didn't apply.  We'd barely got going and then we were delayed at Port Talbot, as the driver was concerned at a safety message.  We were still good, so continued on our travels, although I only had a minute to make my connection.

As for the assessment, it went really well and the assessor was very impressed with some of the work we've done.  We sailed through without any problems.

As we finished early I thought my luck was in and I'd be home at a more sensible time, all was going well until I got to Reading.  My early train got cancelled, no explanations until I contacted the train company through Twitter.  I put an emergency plan into operation by going to Cardiff and then changing to get back to Neath.  Incredibly I rejoined the train I was supposed to catch.  No me either, I don't know.

As for the missing driver, whilst waiting at Reading for the Cardiff train there was a train on the platform for about 15 minutes while they waited for a driver.  No I don't get that one either.  Lol!

Today I am thankful for:

1.  A bracing walk from the train station to our depot, the first exercise I've had for a couple of weeks
2.  A successful external assessment
3.  Fun and laughter with friends

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.