Bike Works and Art Works

I had an operation today to repair a hernia. It was a long day, but I was glad I didn't have to stay overnight. I checked in at 11:30, was in the operating room at 4:30 and picked up by G at 6:30. All went well. I found out a few things about myself: I have skinny arms, thin veins, and involuntary thumb twitches! Had some laughs with the nurses, anesthesiologist and surgeon. When the nurse who was going over all the post-op instructions, she said that she could write a prescription giving me full control of the clicker. I asked her if she could add No cooking for a month. She didn't write it down, but when she wheeled me out to where G was waiting and went over the instructions with him, she started to tell him, looked at me, and we both burst out laughing. Almost pulled it off! 
So...how did I get this hernia? Last February we had a huge snowfall and G wasn't able to shovel very much because of his back problems. I shovelled a ton (well, maybe not quite that much)! We have a looong driveway and paths to the woodshed, compost bin, well house and bird feeder to shovel. I felt a lump when I coughed and had it checked. The doc referred me for an ultrasound, which I had 7 months later! By the time I had that done, was referred to a surgeon, and had the operation, just over a year had passed. It was still quite a small hernia and we thought it best to have it repaired before it got any bigger and I got any older. Done and dusted - and maybe no dusting for me for a few weeks!  Ha!
Took this shot out the car window on the way to the hospital.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.