Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

DIY

After the fence panel blew down in the storm, I decided to replace it with a picket fence section which arrived today. It reminded why I dislike DIY.  Everything about the job proved difficult!  The post holders kept hitting stones and concrete when I tried to drive them in, the tightening nuts were then nearly inaccessible and the saw I was using to cut down the post kept jammed! In short, what I thought would take half and hour took the best part of the morning. Having said that, I am pleased with the result and it should let the wind through in the next storm.  In the afternoon, I made two Indian sweetmeat puddings as the grandchildren are coming to tea and I wanted to try two recipes in the cookbook we were given at one of the homesteads in India.  The carrot halva turned out well but the coconut soufflé was a bit runny so needs to be rescued with more gelatin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.