Windy Post

With some good weather on the cards I set off for a trip across the moor. There were some patches of snow in places where the sun didn't reach. Yesterday's snow I imagine. I parked up at Pork Hill and walked over Whitchurch Common to Windy Post. It's a 16th century cross standing by the Grimstone and Sortridge leat. It probably marks the way between Buckfast and Tavistock Abbeys.

It Wide Wednesday (hosted by steveng today) and the theme today is 'Quiet Place'. I thought it might be fairly quiet today and it was but the babbling leat was a little noisier today with so much water coming over the little weir. My blip today is taken from down the stream looking up to the weir with the cross on the right. In the distance is the TV mast at North Hessary Tor. In front of that is Vixen Tor and Kings Tor to the right. It's a lovely quiet place and I had it all to myself for a while, long enough to take a few different compositions before a couple of dog walkers came through( and they soon passed).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.