Shingle

We are in Hythe again and settled in the usual apartment for a week. This is the view from our balcony - the shingle beach has got so much higher after the storms as this picture shows. Later I walked along a bit further to where the rocks are and sat and watched the waves - perfect. 

We arrived to sunshine, a lovely day. I don't think this weather will last, but it will not concern us unduly, we love this place so much, and have plans. 

Last night
I do like Chekhov and I know he is not to everyone's taste, but yesterday the production of Uncle Vanya was fantastic. It got 5 stars from the Guardian when it opened and I agree wholeheartedly with the review. The production stayed true to Chekhov, with a setting that perfectly portrayed the claustrophobic atmosphere that is typical of his work, but brought the whole thing up to date with comment on current issues. I don't watch much TV so I don't know many celebrated actors/actresses, but apparently there were a quite a few involved. For me Toby Jones can do no wrong and the part of Vanya was made for him - he brought out the comedy, but it was comedy with depth and poignancy. A truly wonderful experience. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.