AMK49

By AMK49

A simple cross ......

....... and a simple daffodil.

I was at our church midweek service in the church hall this morning and as I listened to Muriel’s talk I couldn’t help noticing that someone had placed a single daffodil in a jar on the table where she was sitting. The cross normally sits on a shelf in the church and is brought through to the table on a Wednesday morning.

I thought I would wait till after coffee and chat and imagined this photo with the coloured glass in the background - I suppose I shouldn’t have let my attention wander ! 

Muriel an amazing 90 year old told me the story of the cross - it was given to a previous minister ( Rev Dr J K Porteous) who I remember well,  by a West African soldier who made it from Iroko wood when JK, as we always called him, was chaplain to the 3rd Battalion The Gold Coast Regiment during the Second World War.

The photo didn’t work out exactly as I wanted but I was getting some strange looks from a few older ladies who were still around and were wondering what on earth I was doing with my phone ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.