Front Yard

Random factoid: this magnolia variety is called Randy, one of a series of eight girls* released in 1968, the same year my son was born. My favorite part of this image is the reflection of the palm tree across the street. Its rustlings are part of the soundtrack of every storm, and we could sure use one right about now. Everything's upside down. It's summer weather, we're gardening in short sleeve t-shirts, and needing to run the drip system on the vegetables. 

*Developed at the U.S. National Arboretum,‘Randy’ is one of a group of eight magnolia developed from crosses of M. liliflora × M. stellata made at the Arboretum in 1955 and 1956 by William F. Kosar and Dr. Francis de Vos. These eight plants, known affectionately as 'The Girls', were selected and named by William F. Kosar and released in 1968.  The others are 'Ann', 'Betty', 'Judy', 'Ricki', 'Susan', 'Jane' and 'Pinkie'.  

I have just discovered that my neighbor has planted Susan.  I wonder if I can track down the others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.