2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

My new weekday neighbour

First day of the new job complete with new commute.
In what will probably be a unique event, I had a double seat to myself on the way into London. I think the snow in Wales meant that fewer people were travelling from the west. Got to Paddington station to find the gates to the underground station were closed while they cleared the overcrowding on the platforms. Haven't seen that before but apparently it happens quite regularly. When we were let in, I bought my Oyster card, realised that the Bakerloo line was closed and replanned my journey.
Arrived at the office half an hour early so I had a lovely, huge cup of coffee in a nearby cafe with a very friendly owner. She wished me luck for my first day.

The day passed very quickly - a full schedule of meetings, briefings, introductions to huge numbers of new faces and having lunch with my new team. Got to have posh coffee with the chairman of the company just before I left.

Arrived at Paddington to find chaos at the station. Signals were out further down the line so no trains had moved for ages. Found a seat on a waiting train but it then had to be inspected for dodgy brakes. When we did finally crawl out of the station, we were told that the usual 28 minute journey would be at least 5o minutes as we would have to be talked through each signal.

I sat patiently, lost in my book and just relaxed. Much to everyone's surprise the train whizzed through the newly mended signals and I was home only 75 mins after leaving the office.

An exciting first day...this commuting lark should be very interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.