FLOWER FRIDAY

Earlier in the week we brought home some carpet samples from a local shop to see what they looked like in our bathroom and needed to take them back in today.  I wasn’t that keen to go out because it was hammering down with rain but the offer of a coffee after we had completed our business won the day!

Interestingly, when I worked in a Solicitors’ office in Old Town, the owner of the shop was one of our clients, so I often went into the shop and over the years we have done business there.  Old Town was a great community years ago where we all knew and supported each other, but sadly, with the growth of internet shopping, that has changed over the years.   However, Mr. HCB and I are great believers in supporting local businesses if we can, so today we did our bit for the Old Town economy!  In fact, Graham, who served us, was telling us that early next year, he will have been working in the same shop for 50 years - not many can say that nowadays but I did remember him, although I think his hair was much darker then!

Our business done, we had a very wet and windy walk round to our favourite Old Town café, Jack’s, and there just happened to be some beautiful roses on every table, so I had a play around with the portrait mode on my new iPhone and was quite pleased with the result.

After we finished our coffee we didn’t wander around in Old Town as we usually do, but after popping into the Co-op, and giving the young lady who served me one of my hearts, we came home to our warm, dry house.  With more rain and high winds forecast for this weekend, we think of those who are still coping with the effects of flooding in their homes.

We are now waiting for some friends, who live nearby, to pop in for coffee and perhaps even a slice of fruitcake, kindly made for Mr. HCB by Sue, another friend, who I swear thinks I deprive Mr. HCB!  As it is such miserable weather, I might even be tempted to join them and have a slice myself!

Mr. HCB was doing a jigsaw but the rain was hammering so hard on our conservatory roof that he has now come in and we have closed the doors to shut out the sound of the rain, but I’m not quite sure he would agree with this quote:

“Rain drops are not synchronized 
     yet they create that sound 
          worth listening to.” 
Sameera Pappu

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.