Reading Material

This is the growing pile of books I am amassing for a two-week road trip we will shortly be embarking upon in March.  I tend to be a rather nervous occupant of the passenger seat when Mr. W is behind the wheel -- don't get me wrong, he's an excellent driver, but he also drives very fast, and sometimes seems to forget that he's not on the race track, which results in my furiously pumping an imaginary brake pedal, and emitting involuntary gasps which irritate him no end!  Therefore, in order to preserve our sanity and our marriage, I read aloud with the happy result that we arrive at our destination still speaking to each other, and with our minds somewhat better expanded.

On a side note, I attended a very nice cocktail party at the home of one of my neighbours yesterday evening, held in honour of a new neighbour who has just moved in to our building -- the famous historian and writer (and incredibly gracious lady) Doris Kearns Goodwin.  That's her autobiography, Wait Till Next Year in my stack of books.  Our hostess is also a well known personality in her own right -- three-time Emmy Award winning broadcast journalist and author Carole Simpson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.