Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Sleater-Kinney

Tonight I broke my rule about never trekking over to Manchester on a week night...


But there was a very good reason! I went to see one of the best rock bands of the last 30 years, Sleater-Kinney.

The band formed in Olympia, Washington in the mid ‘90s, and were strongly identified with the punky and political Riot Grrrl scene (much like their contemporaries, Bikini Kill www.blipfoto.com/entry/2585188485329584393). 

Despite a hiatus between 2007 and 2013, the band’s core members have all remained active in one way or another. Today’s Blip is of Carrie Brownstein, who’s successfully complimented her career as a superb guitarist, vocalist and songwriter with a career in TV comedy (as one of the creators and stars of the wonderful ‘Portlandia’), acting (e.g in the film ‘Carol’ and the TV series ‘Transparent’) and writing. Her memoir ‘Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl’ is well worth a read!

More recently, Sleater-Kinney have been very active again - putting out 2 albums in the last 5 years - and, despite the departure last year of long-term drummer Janet Weiss, they remain a thrilling live proposition! Tonight’s show was an absolute belter! (see also the Extra pictures of Carrie and the band’s equally fabulous co-founder, Corin Tucker. My camera was confiscated on my way into the venue - as I’d guessed it would be - so I did the best I could with my phone...).

Setlist

The Center Won’t Hold
Hurry On Home
Price Tag
The Future Is Here
Jumpers
Reach Out
Bury Our Friends
One More Hour
Ironclad
Ruins
No Cities to Love
Call the Doctor
Bad Dance
Youth Decay
Love
Can I Go On
A New Wave
Animal
The Dog/The Body
Entertain
Broken
Modern Girl
The Fox
Gloria (Laura Branigan cover)
Dig Me Out

Here’s a review of their London show yesterday www.theguardian.com/music/2020/feb/27/sleater-kinney-review-brixton-academy?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other

Today’s song is ‘Can I Go On’ from the current album, ‘The Center Won’t Hold’. I absolutely love this video! www.youtube.com/watch?v=pB08AUiTP3w 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.