Life Savors

By osuzanna

Red-Bellied Woodpecker

Wendy and I went looking for the Great Horned Owl that is nesting at the abandoned RedGate Golf Course.  Because Wendy had been there before, it didn't take us long to find it.  It was quite far away and I had to shoot handheld because I forgot the tripod plate for my lens.  We had to shoot through a lot of branches so focusing was difficult, as well.  I have loaded one my only decent shots in extra. 

While we were shooting the owl, this woodpecker landed close by and right where it provided a very clean background, much to my delight.  He is also giving us a very nice glimpse of his red belly. 

Wendy mentions in her blip that we knocked off 6000 steps.  That doesn't sound that impressive, but we were loaded down with large lenses and tripods and the path was very very hilly.  It felt like a decent workout (says she as she is getting ready to take a nap.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.