Crowded Silence

By Crowded_Silence

Not changed Yet

I came across this Facebook post yesterday.
The tweet says, "Ladies, if you get married and your husband wants to work, would you let him?"
And the caption of the Facebook post was, "I am very progressive. I will allow him to work and so will my family."

Well... not trying to sound more like a faminist. I don't deserve to be one. What I am trying to do today is to challenge the patriarchal thoughts and acts present in my society.
In Nepal and most of the countries in South Asian countries, women are kept away from the outside world. They are restricted from outside world and limited to household cores and responsibilities. All for the reason that outside world is not safe for them. So, keeping them inside (Day and night) is the only way to keep them safe.

As John A. Shedd said, "A ship in harbour is safe, but that is not what ships are built for."

Some people may argue that it is changing nowadays and it is not so bad for women nowadays as before. I heard this saying so much.
One of my cousin sister's marriage proposal was rejected numerous times just because she holds many master's degrees. Another of my cousin sister is not yet married because of the same reason.
So, I beg to differ. Nope, it is not changing and not better for women at all.
This peaceful place just evoked these thoughts that were at the back of my mind. Thanks for the read.

Thank you everyone for stars and comments in my last blip. I really appreciate your time and effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.