Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Questionable motive...

Was I driving the 45km to Augusta to photograph waterbirds or was I really going there to get a pasty from Augusta bakery...my motive was questionable. Actually it was to photograph the birds but as soon as I started driving the memory of yummy pasties came to mind and it was all I could think of. I called into the bakery as soon as I arrived as it was lunchtime and I would have been more disappointed about missing out on the pasty than missing a photo. Pasty bagged (and a little cherry tart), I drove to the estuary edge, parked the car and started eating. I did take one photo of the pasty but not with any great care and so it is not starring here. It was as good as I had remembered...Aaaahhh...satisfaction.

I managed to take a couple of photos of the little pied cormorants (action shot shown here), a white-faced heron, some pelicans and seagulls. All of these birds are already on the list of BigBlipYear birds from around the world but that doesn't matter. I spotted some eagles, black cockatoos and kestrel as I drove but with my lens only 200mm I suspect am never going to get a reasonable photo of any of them. My wish list of lenses is growing and I can see this might become an expensive hobby. But I will wait and see if I develop a preference for any particular type of photography...and then focus (hehe) on that.

When will I be taking a photo of a newborn I wonder...any day now :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.