an orchid...

...bloom

to begin the week

this is from my - orchid warrior plant - which, against all odds - survived the catastrophic ceiling - collapse and resulting flood - last year in my apartment being - hit by half a ton of water - as well as insulation debris - i really didn’t believe it - would make it but with gentle - cleaning by my brother - and subsequent babying by me - this is pthe 2nd time - it has bloomed since that - traumatic event occurred which is why i now call - it my warrior plant

this is one flower of 6 on the plant - this time around - and unlike my other orchids - which i cut back once - the blooms fall off - this one doesn’t allow me - to do so - it constantly has new growth - sprouting on its branches - i think to remind me that it is - healthy and strong - a survivor in the pack - of all my surviving plants - from that day

i know it’s just a plant - however i think lessons - can be learned from anything - if we’re open to it - for me, i could hang on to - thinking that day was an awful tragedy - leaving me marred and broken - or i could view it as an opportunity - a chance to purge out some belongings - i no longer needed - (i lost close to 75% of everything i owned due to water damage)

true it wasn’t an easy process - there was some grief involved - but i chose to see - it as a new beginning - for me and the boo - we got a new home - new belongings - have made new friends - like the orchid, we are survivors - and when you choose to survive - that path always leads to...

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.