Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Eye of the Tiger

Another day at home for me, and an ideal time for an Igor update I think.

Quick recap: just before Easter last year Igor suddenly became very ill indeed.
I took him to the vets immediately and after several emergency sessions on a drip, tests revealed that his underlying illness had been caused by an abnormal red blood cell count. The vet concluded this more than likely meant he had a tumour in his liver.

This news I received on the inappropriately named Good Friday. The reason he had became ill suddenly was due to a secondary infection, and because he was already weakened by the cancer I should prepare myself for the worse, so I took the short walk home with him, tears running down my cheeks.

After a week of giving him various supplements, some TLC, keeping him warm, he didn't seem to be getting any better, could hardly walk so I decided the best thing to would be to take him to the vets the next morning if there was no improvement.
However...... the very next day I woke to find him jumping all over me, demanding food.

A few weeks after that, I posted this celebratory blip of him.

Since that blip, his eyes have become noticeably duller, he's definitely slowed down in general, doesn't like being picked up with my hands under his stomach, but he still takes his vitamin B tablets every day, drinks a lot of water, and still has a healthy appetite.

And he's still here.











Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.