The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

The Long And Winding Road

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

Today I had just jumped into my parked car when someone went tearing up the road, taking my wing mirror clean off (with a very loud bang) and distributing it in pieces all over the road.

The driver didn’t stop and was through the lights before I remembered to take down the license plate and I had a moment of rage about people being complete @rseholes.

And then I remembered two moments where people in cars reaffirmed my faith in humanity...

The first time, was when we lived in Leith. The Mini Princesses were only 3 and 1. We had just crossed Leith Walk when we realised that The Eldest Mini Princess had dropped her favourite teddy, Aurora ,on the far side of the road. There was no way of me rescuing poor Aurora safely (with a buggy and a distraught toddler) and there an HGV heading right for her.

But the driver noticed Aurora (and us standing by the road). He actually stopped his lorry, jumped out, picked up Aurora and ran across the road to hand her to EMP. That driver made a little girl VERY happy that day.

The second time was a few years ago - it was wazzing with rain so I decided at the last minute to get the bus to work. There was a bus due so I ran to the stop and just made it.

A couple of stops later, a woman got on. I was oblivious because I was listening to music but she walked up the aisle to me.

And handed me my purse.

It had fallen out my pocket when I was running. The woman was the passenger in a car behind the bus and had seen it happen. They had stopped, picked up the purse, got ahead of the bus and waited at the next stop so she could get on the bus and give it back to me.

On both occasions, there wasn’t time to say more than a quick “thank you” but I was so grateful to the strangers who made the effort to step out of their own bubble and into mine.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.