The RAF Bar

The RAF bar.

I was sitting in the back room of a famous old pub in Cambridge late this morning trying to in any meaningful way comprehend the amazing valour of the RAF service crews who have passed through this place. The ceiling is famous for crews burning their squadron name into it.

Malcolm Osborn’s history link is pure fascination and replayed for you here https://www.398th.org/PDF/Friends/Osborn/Osborn_A%20Famous%20Ceiling.pdf

My great Uncle Tom flew through WW2 in a Lancaster, a plane he worshipped. Who wouldn’t when it got him through a war that killed so many. The stats are hideous. Bomber Command aircrews suffered a high casualty rate: of a total of 125,000 aircrew, 57,205 were killed (a 46 percent death rate), a further 8,403 were wounded in action and 9,838 became prisoners of war. Therefore, a total of 75,446 airmen (60 percent of operational airmen) were killed, wounded or taken prisoner.

Of course the shocking damage they caused is hideous too. The senseless nature of war.

All I can do is think of an 18 year old Anthony out in The Eagle in 1942 surrounded by friends and all of us not knowing if this was to be our last night. My god I would have partied.

I had the great pleasure of dining with two fine blippers too. Dear Mr & Mrs Donnan. Perhaps in this meeting alone, that of dear friends made within a free society, I can with great humility accept the sacrifice these men made for me.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.