Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Rare Visitor

At least in our garden (and maybe further afield).  I can't remember ever seeing one before.  This is a Blackcap (Sylvia atricapilla).  Historically thought to be a summer visitor to the UK, recent evidence suggests that some over winter.  Even so, the latest data from the RSPB suggests that only about 3,000 birds do this, so I was pretty chuffed to not only see it, but also be in a position to record it on camera.


While researching the species I was encouraged to report the sighting on the BTO's Bird Track.  There was a little administration to register and log in, but I finally managed to report the details.  You can even check on other sightings by region and I count myself very lucky to have seen this bird as sightings in the area this year can be counted on the fingers of one hand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.