2 of 3 peregrines

Having got a new model upgrade olympus camera I was keen to get down to see the peregrines and try it out on my most demandingly quick subjects. The early sun was beautiful and the juvenile flew in on que.
Shortly after I heard my name shouted and a fellow tog, T was calling me over in a bit of a hurry. T is a regular watching the peregrines almost everyday but the urgency was that the adult male had been found injured on the roadside, assumed hit by a car as it flew under a small bridge connecting the old  mill either side of the road. By now the falcon had been put into a plastic box with a cardboard lid taped over to keep him calm. A call to RSPCA said they weren't interested but T knew a part retired Wildlife Trust employee and a phone call got him out of bed, he advised a vet in Ashbourne who would take a look at the wild bird. So T and I loaded the box into my car and off we went to find the vets. 
We called ahead and on arrival they immediately took the falcon out the back, they gave us a few forms to complete and asked the right questions to ascertain where the bird had come from and how we had got him. When we handed him over the bird was lay on his back, had blood on him but was still breathing. The vet came out and said he had got feisty and had strong talons ! They assured us they would do whatever was possible and keep T informed. On that we left.
Late afternoon T got a call, the falcon hadn't been hit by a car but shot ! They had found 2 pellets, removed 1 and would try to remove the other tomorrow. There is hope for him but I am afraid there is little hope for the idiot that shot him !!
Those that follow my journal may remember that this male arrived on the scene 3 years ago and just 1 week after the previous male had been shot and found dead. He is in fact the females 4th partner. The persecution of birds of prey unfortunately isn't new but no one ever seems to be prosecuted and wildlife crime is no nearer to being eradicated. Education and winning hearts and minds seems to be the only way but the guilty morons are probably the least likely to listen or share any enjoyment in watching a falcon grace the sky and be amazed at how fast they dive.
I will post updates as and when I can but I may not be posting for a few days, as tomorrow I am going in hospital to have an operation on my benign enlarged prostate. Otherwise known as a rebore. It may be garden birds for a while when I get out in a day or two.
By the way the extra shows the other 2 resident peregrines, the female and last years offspring, sitting together on the turret no doubt wondering where he has gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.