Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Shoveller #24 / Goosander #25

Two for the price of one today. I had a lovely few hours at Pennington Flash today. I had to leave in the end as my fingers were frozen. Despite the sunshine it was still very cold. 

A walk around the block started with a lovely great crested grebe from Pengy's hide - they are stunning birds this time of year. 
My main blip today is the view at Teal hide where there were a number of sleeping male Goosanders and a couple of more active females. 
Then on to Ramsdale hide where I found one snipe, one female goldeneye and a quick sighting of a water rail. 
Finally from the Tom Edmondson hide I lucked out with some really nice views of snipe, a quick visit from a kingfisher and another great crested grebe and another water rail. Since the water rail is probably the most elusive, I wanted to post a shot of one, but there were just too many reeds and branches in the way, so that will have to wait for another day. 
See extras for snipe and a kingfisher

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.