Northern Star

By Lifferz

Organised

It’s very rare that I buy a book, the year in which it is published, however, this year I’ve bought two. I bought my mum Mark Nepo’s amazing book for a gift, as I presumptuously felt she is at a time of her life where she will really appreciate ‘The Book of Awakening’.

Fortunately for me that bestseller was updated in 2020, so she’s got a more modern version then I have! As a cancer survivor Mark has a very unique perspective about how to make the most from what life has to offer.

My latest book, just published, is the subject of my Blip. I’m a secret Micheal Cashman fan (not because of Eastenders btw- that period of his life was not on my radar as I found Eastenders rather serious, shouty and dull when I was at primary school).

I follow him on Twitter and I think he writes beautifully and profoundly. I have some annual leave coming up mid-March I thought I’d get time to really appreciate this gem, although I know it will make me cry!

He was an MEP, a co-founder of Stonewall, campaigned for LGBT+ rights, well known actor and sadly a widower. I’m not a romantic but some of the things he has written about his husband have been both beautiful and hard to read.

I have treated myself to the prologue;

“It does worry me that you are having some difficulties. I want to help you all I can, and so the best I can do is to love you. I will love you, give you the knowledge that whatever happens to you, whatever you do I will love you and give you the security of a relationship as long as you (and I) need it. I hope that it is forever, but only time will tell, and we must not live for tomorrow, but for now, for today.

All I am trying to say in my confusing style is that whatever anyone thinks, feels, or says about you, remember you love someone, they love you. That is enviable. Not everyone experiences that. End of lecture.

He folds the letter back along its original lines and places it inside the envelope”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.