Craigmillar Castle

Yesterday afternoon I was through in Edinburgh and decided to do bit more on my "Lesser known Parts of Edinburgh" project. I looked the map for green/park areas and thought I would look at Burdiehouse Burn area leading through to Ellens Glen. However, as the burn was in a fairly deep ravine and the green areas were really just a  streamside pathway area it was not particularly appealing photographically. 

Looking for something nearby I thought about. Craigmillar Castle. I have been there previously but never been around the medieval castle. In any case I wanted to photograph it from the outside. Initially shooting from the east side the castle was in heavy shadow and I though I might be in difficulty pulling out any detail so I did a trek right around the west side which involved a fair bit of walking to scale the hill on which it stands. I managed to catch it just before the light faded completely but the sky was not half so interesting. In working on the images this afternoon I found the shots from the east  were far more effective as there were brooding dark clouds above it in which Silver Efex was able to add lots more drama. I have included a shot from the west. as an extra and you can see how washed out the sky is. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.