For night deposits (and what happened today)

This is on the side of an old bank building downtown. It's still a bank building, but the original bank closed decades ago.

Today I went to the doctor to get a physical. We have to do it so our insurance doesn't charge us an extra $250 through the second half of the year. It's not much each paycheck, but it's unnecessary (just like the for-profit health care system in this country). They weighed me (I've lost 10 pounds (4.5kg)), took my blood pressure (good) and blood sugar (good). I'm healthy.

They also took my blood. As they filled the second vial, I felt lightheaded and got tunnel vision. Then I felt like I was dreaming or waking up from a dream. In the dream, I was in a doctor's office and had five or six unfamiliar people looking at me.

I passed out. It was quick. They scrambled to keep me from falling out of the chair. I came to and realized where I was and who the people were. I was sweaty. I'm not squeamish, but I did fast for around 14 hours. I thought it was supposed to be 12 hours (it's actually supposed to be eight!), and I really didn't eat or drink anything since around 9 p.m., and my appointment was at 11 a.m. OOPS.

I blame my stupid insurance company. The last time I did a physical for this was two years ago, and they gave us a form to fill out with instructions. This time there was no form and no information other than to go to the doctor before March 31 and some details on what codes the health care provider has to put in so it goes to our insurance. It's all so stupid.

Also, I have to go back tomorrow. That's just because I couldn't technically get a physical as a new patient. I have to go back and get the same questions asked and then they're good to tell my insurance I got the tests. Sheesh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.