Friday Foto

By drmackem

The miseducation of......

A Photo
Wor Angel - it's like religious ritual, can't drive past without stopping, need to know she's watching over this place, my family up here, she still is.

A Muse
Spin Class
New teacher…
I’m number 12
 
Start up with some gentle tunes whilst new teacher describes this as a hill climbing session, 
Teacher:“it won’t be fun”, in the chirpiest, cheeriest tones imaginable.
 
After working up a lather, getting my legs burning
Teacher “Ok so you’re all warmed up now, let’s start working”
The voice inside my head “Started?!”
 
Teacher: “5 hills 2mins each with a one minute sprint, turn up the resistance number 12!”
Voice in my head: “be positive, OK you’ve got this”
 
Teacher “So this if the 4th hill, number 12 have you ever been in one of my classes before?”
Voice breathlessly :“no…”
Teacher still frightenly cheery and bouncy “figures, get your bum back, use your core on those hills”
Voice in my head “no one’s commented on my bum for decades and it comes to this”
 
Teacher “the aircon isn’t working in here, when I get a break I’ll sort it out”
Never gets a break, session doubles up as a group sauna, Hot Spin
 
Teacher “now imagine a long climb you like to do and visualise this, were doing 6mins uphill”
Voice in my head “a 6min climb I like to do??? OK got it!”
 
Teacher: “so up 2, 3, 4, down 2, 3 4, up 2, 3, 4..number 12, you’ve definitely not been in my class before, stop looking at the scenery”
Voice in my head:: “I thought I was supposed to be visualising, beautiful alpine hills, when was cycling meant to be hard work and where exactly is the cake?”
 
Teacher “ELO now”
Voice in head :“Mr Blue Sky, Mr Blue Sky please”
Tune – not Mr Blue Sky….
 
Teacher “So we’ll finish off with a couple a reps of the hill to the pub,” which I know too well – the climb, not the pub.
Voice in head “no, she’ll notice if you stop at the pub”
 
And then stretch…and cool down and stop
Clean up the large pool of coronavirus friendly perspiration,
Books in next week again with the scarily positive and now favourite spin teacher.
Checks phone, workout failed to record, if it’s not on strava it didn’t happen..

A Tune
I promised you cheery yesterday, for all of us who need reminding from time to time that winning isn’t winning and being yourself is just fine.
 
 The Middle - by Jimmy Eat World

Hey, don't write yourself off yet
It's only in your head you feel left out
Or looked down on
Just do your best, do everything you can.
And don't you worry what the bitter hearts, are gonna say

It just takes some time, little girl you're in the middle of the
Ride 
Everything, everything it'll be just fine 
Everything, everything it'll be alright 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.