Barnston...

It's been a lovely day today. I went over to Barnston in Essex to photograph this little church, St Andrew the Apostle.  I wanted to go there  because it is one of a very few churches I know that are painted white. Also churches are usually quiet so I can faff about in peace.

I've been reading Ansel Adams' The Negative and wanted to  have a good target to try zone metering with my 5 x 4 camera.

In a nutshell, I metered on the white wall of the church f45 @ 1/125 (zone 5) and added three stops to take the white wall  to zone 8. f45 @ 1/15. I also used an orange filter to darken the sky. The negative came out exactly as I wanted... very pleased.

MPP Micro Technical and Fujinon 150mm f6.3. Fomapan 100, f45 at 1/15 sec, Orange Filter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.