Combi31

By Combi31

L'Hippodrome, Grenade-sur-Garonne, France

Hippodrome - racetrack to you.
I pass the Hippodrome often on my way to work and every time I pass, I think ... I must stop and get a pic ... then drive off to work or home.
Well this evening, after picking up honorable son N°1 from the cinema, I decided that we'd go and get the said pic.
To be honest, I didn't know how to get to the trackside and randomly drove down a narrow road that then turned out to be a dead end.
I could see the racetrack with one rider doing training circuits, but it was a tad far off for my standard 50mm lens (doing the 50in50 challenge you see).
The car was then surrounded by several dogs, big hound types, a couple of Doberman, a setter or two and some German Shepherds ... I got out the car to get the picture then saw someone getting into a van in the farmyard (where the dogs came from).
I went over to him and asked if he knew how I could get closer to take some photos of the race track.
"Come with me", he said, "I'm the racetrack President and I'm going there myself".
A thoroughly good egg of a man then took us to the central part of the racetrack where I could get some photos.
We chatted for quite a time and to cut a long story short, Hon. Son N°1 is going to do a few afternoon's work at the track to earn some pocket money on race days - Wow, result!
Honourable son, n°1 is over the moon, as am I ... for him!
Excellent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.