Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Great Grey Shrike

I did it for the dogs!

The water around us here in Tewkesbury is still hanging on top of the clay soil so the grass is a quagmire. The dogs needed an outing and so did I so opted for a birding walk. Not, it has to be said the most sensible thing to do, taking dogs birding but it had to be done. 

Well it wasn't raining - that was a plus however it was blowing a hooley down in the forest, so much so that whilst bracing myself against the wind the westies were nearly flattened ....and I thought I was going to get a bird? Really?

He made me work for the shot though I can tell you! Every time I got to within shooting distance he moved to where I'd just come from. Don't say it I know...'stay where you are and they will come to you', is the saying but the area I was in is vast really vast and even Poppy nearly dipped out at one stage following me with the result I only had one dog at my heels and had to retrace my steps uphill. Was I happy? Well possibly -  I was counting calories! 

Lovely to see him this winter before he travels back over to Scandinavia and Russia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.