Stockpiling

The radio announced this morning that supermarkets were running low on various goods, including flour and toilet rolls, due to the Coronavirus. And that there was no need for people to panic buy.
These seem slightly contradictory statements to me. If there is no flour I cannot do my baking, therefore I need to make sure I have some if it’s already running out.
Why would a disease mean that there’s no flour in any case?
But it was true that yesterday there was no plain flour on the shelves in Aldi, although they had some today, but no strong baking flour.
And Sainsbury’s was even worse off. I feel justified in buying myself two bags for the coming week and hope it doesn’t trigger a panic in Kendal!
We have also made sure our store cupboards have enough of the basics, as people are a bit prone to madness, witness the scene on Christmas Eve!
I don’t think there are any cases of virus in Kendal just yet, and hope you are all keeping well, and well stocked up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.