and through the wire...

By hesscat

Something To Believe In @FrmSctlndWthLv

Well we braved the big bad world out there to sit in a hall, The Usher, with over 2000 other people for a showing of the 2014 film "From Scotland With Love" performed live by King Creosote and band. It was commissioned for the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow and features Scottish archival footage accompanied by the music of King Creosote. I had been looking forward to the original showing on BBC in June 2014 as we were already big KC fans but I was so blown away by it that I immediately watched it again then contacted the filmmakers to see if we could show it at Moorflix, and we did later in the year. We've watched the film many times and attended Q&As, but for some reason have never been able to attend a showing accompanied by the live performance until now (although in my head it feel's like I have!).
 
Anyways here we were, 30 mins of warm up with The Fence Collective then the film. It must be 2 or 3 years since I last watched it but it all came flooding back, the tears and the laughs. As I watched it again I reflected how things have changed so much, not necessary the obvious stuff, just how people were. While good things are better now, the bad things are worse. It's a bit depressing I know, but we're missing something they had back then.
 
Aye, it was a fab show, a packed hall, standing ovations, it's great they can still tour it almost 6 years later!  If you haven't yet seen the film, you should. And it's about time for a new KC album?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.