Social Distance

My wife, the incarnation of Pre-existing Condition, is quarantining herself. Her parents are also going out as little as possible. 

I am more social than I think of myself being so I'm still working on not shaking hands. 

I skipped the owls this morning. We went to the grocery store early, to try to avoid the crowds, and ran into everyone else trying to avoid crowds ;-)

I'm working on remembering not to shake hands. This afternoon there was a man also photographing the owls. He had the most impressive gear. He had a tall, carbon fiber, camo tripod and a ginormous camo lens and a big camera with a loud mechanical shutter and camo hat and jacket. We compared weight and he envied me my light setup and told me his was 20 lbs. I'm delighted/relieved that he told me he also does't know how good the pictures are until they are on the computer and that he has to sharpen them post process. Tonight I have happily sharpened my pictures without feeling less than. I shook his hand, then remembered that we aren't supposed to shake hands, and then worried that he thought I was avoiding it because he is Chinese. He has family in China but they are all ok. He and a large group had arranged a cruise. They all just canceled out of CV 19 fears, and Princess didn't refund any of their money. Marriott did. 

We helped a bunch of people see where the owl is. Everyone enjoyed petting Prince Samuel. Then we left and had a wonderful walk and encountered people ..... looking for the owl! I described where it was and said that there would probably be a bunch of people there to help but if there weren't to wave/holler and I'd come show them. When we were driving away I saw them and they hadn't found the owl. 

Prince Samuel and I hopped out and walked over, because the owl is so well hidden that if you don't have someone show you, you really don't stand a chance. We had a fantastic conversation about his car - which is the one I'm planning to buy - so I got to ask odd questions. His daughter was thrilled, the owl was the highlight of her day. AND I remembered not to shake hands. We played with the Vulcan greeting, bowing, and bumping elbows. 

My friend in China is fine. She said they've broken the cycle of transmission, at least outside of Wuhan. She was going bonkers alone so she adopted a cat and now has a little rambunctious mischief-maker to help her out. She pointed out to me that even though children don't seem effected, they are great disease vectors and could be having it without bad symptoms and they can definitely bring it home to vulnerable grandparents. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.