A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Mono Monday 320 :: MM320 :: Shape

Plus my Olympus 9mm BCL v 7mm - 14mm PRO lens comparison.

There is nothing more shapely than Matilda, my 1970 Morris Traveller, especially when most modern cars look the same! Thanks to ApolloFly for hosting this week.

The first image was taken with my Oly 9mm Body Cap Lens sat about 0.2m away from the corner of Matilda. The extra was taken with the PRO lens and I think you could say the quality of the image is better but there is a difference.

Because I could have the camera just 0.2m away from Matilda for the BCL the distortion effect is greater. I need to move the PRO away by about 0.1m allowing for the length of the lens. This gave me about the same area of the car (I used the top of the windscreen and bumper as a guide) but the distortion to the wheel is less.

For a fair test, I set the PRO at 9mm and at f8. I also processed the images the same way in On1using a B&W preset. 

I guess unless I have the car handy to carry the PRO lens I'll stick with the BCL when out and about. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.