Norm53

By Norm53

Wingate Constitutional Club, Co Durham

Said goodbye to a great friend and walking companion today over in the North East. He finally gave in to his dementia which, without realising, we saw coming on many years ago in one shape or form.

He was a miner who moved into the Prison Service and, as a mark of respect, they formed a Line of Honour for him as he was taken into the crematorium. He was a member of the local church and did a lot for the community which was evident by the number of people who attended.

He was also great company both in the hills and in the bar and I’ve missed him no end these last few years. He and his wife helped me a lot during the darkest period of my life as well.

Once back in Penrith, I called in the Dog Beck pub and had a quiet pint in his memory.

My blip is of the club where his wife put on the buffet, it reminded me of Peter Kay’s Phoenix Club!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.