The Shape of Hand Sanitizer

I can only listen to the news for five minutes. Today's dose involved Trump visiting the CDC (Center Fro Disease Control) with a bunch of his cronies, including Pence. They all were greeted by, and shook hands with, dignitaries from The CDC who later announced that they were going into 'voluntary quarantine 'because they had been around persons with Covid19. Trump apparently still thinks it's all a hoax, and the CDC people apparently think shaking hands  with him when they have been exposed to the disease is a good way to make a point. 

You couldn't make it up. Hope Trump has lots of hand sanitizer handy....or maybe I hope he doesn't...

John and I went to class this morning. Hand sanitizer and antibacterial wipes *are abundant, so we wiped our mats, our props and ourselves before and after class and then went to coffee at Trail House where Larry read recommendations from a colleague who is a doctor in China. One  positive thing is that this virus hates heat and can be killed by temperatures over 82º. This would certainly explain why the 'regular' flu is also called 'seasonal' flu and why ads for decongestants and cough medicine always start appearing on television here as soon as fire season is over.

I'm not sure we know this is true for Covid19, but we can hope....

There were no new cases in Sonoma County over the weekend. But there also don't seem to be any test kits, so I'm not sure how this was determined. 

A cruise ship which has been circling outside San Francisco Bay waiting for a delivery of test kits**has now docked at the Port of Oakland with 21 active cases aboard, 19 of them crew members. They will be taken to hospitals  for treatment. The others will be taken to 'secure locations' for 14 day quarantine. 900 of them from California will be taken to Travis Air Force Base in Solano County. 

There was a picture of a person being taken off a ship on a gurney in an 'isolation pod'. It looked absolutely terrifying. If the virus didn't get me, that most certainly would.

People who are elderly and those who are in poor health are advised not to go on a cruise. OK...good to know. Seems to me the cruise ships are all full of quarantined crew members who haven't been taken to the hospital. As I've said before, you couldn't pay me to go on a cruise ship even before Covid19 was a thing.

I have taken myself to Dana and Jim's house where I am trying to write this with one finger while I have one kitty (the three legged one) on my lap and one on the back of the sofa behind my head. I don't think I'll turn the radio on for the five minute trip home unless it's the classical station....
The one with no news.

*What good are antibacterial soaps and wipes if it's a virus?
**Dropped by helicopter and a guy in a hazmat suit onto the deck of the ship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.