Keeping Me Sane

By CKJohnson

Black Vulture

I know this is already on the BlipBigYear challenge but I like this shot. Today was actually amazing. We didn't leave the house until around 2:30pm, ran a couple of errands and headed for the Ocklawaha River to check out some fishing spots. Before we got to the river I saw a big fox squirrel that sat on the post and posed for me. Then off to the river where we first encountered these Black (UGLY) Vultures. There were 30 or so in the area. Then I captured what I thought was a gray cat bird but not sure. I kept hearing noises over by the truck and realized that it was a male cardinal fighting with himself in the chrome and mirror. It was hillarious to watch. We then found a spot on the Ocklawaha River that we've never been to before. Patsy and I grew up in this area and our families were raised on the river but this was a first. The only sign we found on this road said "Cypress Bayou". AMAZING beauty and looks like the perfect place to fish. Not known to the public and we could see fish in the wonderful clear water.

All my photos from today can be seen on Flickr here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.