Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Sunset Over the Cranberry Bog

Thank you everyone for your comments yesterday. Today was infinitely better than yesterday!

Today, I struggled for blip inspiration. This AM, I was a bit late for work and so had no time for a blip detour. I took a quick detour on the way home looking for something to shoot, but nothing really struck my fancy. I had a shot in mind but decided to go another route.

In my drive home, I encountered this Cranberry Bog and decided to try a couple of shots. The light was tough because the sun was low in the sky resulting in a very high contrast situation and a ton of glare. Given the circumstances, I decided to shoot an HDR shot. Unfortunately, I forgot to use my lens hood and so the resulting shot had quite a bit of lens glare which I later removed in Photoshop.

One note, for those of you not familiar with HDR, you should check it out. It is amazing what it can bring out in an image like this where the range of brightness and darkness is so extreme. In case you are not sure what HDR is, here is a page from wikipedia describing the technology and here is the software I used. (there is a free trial version)


Photoshop:
Basic stuff: saturation, contrast, brightness and white balance.
Clone stamp to remove annoying lens glare



Constructive criticism always welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.