yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

Ducks and Does

I had a lovely Sunday. A sleep in then lunch at a restaurant in Czech Republic. They had roast duck with sauerkraut and potato dumplings on special for only 10€. We also ordered our favourite salad with Balkan feta. 
After lunch we caught up briefly with a friend in Gmünd on the way home. we watched some of the skiing and ski jumping on TV then I decided to go to the forest for a Blip. I was trying to photograph some birds in the trees but it was getting dark and could only get dark shapes. I walked slowly closer to the tree when 3 deer streaked across the field behind the houses into the forest. I did manage to photograph them but they were just blurs with my slow shutter speed. I walked through the forest and around to the clearing where I have seen them feeding in the past. They weren't there so I walked back peaking through the trees. I spotted them in a clearing nearer to the houses. A lot of trees were felled last year due to beetle infestation and there is more ground cover. I saw 2 does feeding but couldn't see the buck in the fading light. It was not until one of the does moved to a different spot that I saw the watchful buck sitting in the undergrowth (see extra). He was well camouflaged and stayed motionless the whole time, never taking his eyes off me. I did wonder why the does seemed so unconcerned in the open space. The shots are grainy due to the high ISO but I was so excited to see them. The mild winter had obviously brought them back early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.