Lament for a cherry tree......

On Sunday afternoon I was dozing when I became aware of an incessant jarring noise from outside next door.
I didn’t realise until I was upstairs closing curtains after the daylight had faded, that the beautiful cherry tree which had been there for as long as we’ve lived here, had gone.
I was so so sad, for all sorts of reasons.
It has been chopped down to make way for a third car to be parked, as there are two on the driveway and now another on the lawn. ( I know it is not for me to comment on that, it is their decision.)
I just shall so miss the glorious blossom every spring, and the leaves like flames in the autumn.
Matt, our son who died in 2006, loved cherry trees and it used to flower on his birthday every April.
(He always said “Will it be in flower this year for the 23rd?) It always did.
So cherry tree blossom has taken on a significance all of its own.
I took the two photos of the ones I have stored on my laptop.
The other photo in extras is of a lovely letter card today from the Paramedics who took Stephen to hospital on 4th February.
(I’ve written about them before.)
I had sent them a letter with some photos of them which I’d taken on that day. And they’d asked me to let them know how he went on, giving me their station address and their names. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2671523734023569663. Photo of Paramedics
I also sent a photo of him sitting up in bed at the hospital, with his birthday cards, on the 8th February.
Today he is making good progress day by day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.