Torn Blue Foam Couch

By Kaylee

Broken Understanding

Until recently this huge commercial celebration of Saint Patricks Day use to mean very little to me. I just never understood the big hooplah and it always rubbed me wrong.
Then i did some digging and found that Patrick isn't as wonderful as others say. When he came to Ireland and brought Christian belief he made so many people change from Celtic Paganism to Christian and those who refused had to go underground. It was said he drove out all snakes from the island which was acctually a metaphor for early Celtic Paganism.
So I take this day with a grain of salt, though i am proud of my Irish heritage I refuse to celebrate Saint Patricks day. Instead I will celebrate the lives of those persecuted and porudly hang my snake wreath upon my door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.