Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Ashness Landing, Derwent Water

A very long day, which started at 2:30 am as the alarm went off in the bedroom.  First order of the day was to take L to Manchester Airport for a riding holiday near Jerez, Spain.  Communication later in the day confirmed a safe and untroubled flight and transfer.  During the video call I could see how warm it was, a far cry from my location.

My original intention was to head up to the Isle of Skye but the weather forecast for today was simply atrocious and I had grave doubts I'd have been able to get around the Isle, even had I made it.  I fell back on my favourite activity; photography and walking in the Lake District.  I was in the national park before breakfast and spent a pleasant day exploring locations, old and new.  

Choosing one photograph was difficult, so I've used a rare extra to share a small mill I'd never come across before.  It required me to wade through the gill and clamber over rocks, something I'd avoided since my little accident in the same area just over two years ago.  It was the only way to get in a good position to take photographs of mill wheel and building.

The main image is of Ashness Landing.  I avoided the classic shot straight down the pier, choosing a side shot and long exposure.  Despite the EXIF data this was actually a 90 sec exposure (3 x 30 seconds).  Nikon don't make it easy these days with their new mirrorless cameras to use the bulb facility on the camera, so I opted for a multiple exposure to build up sufficient time for the exposure needed with a big stopper.

Now sitting in the hotel bar, wondering whether going to bed at 8 pm is the done thing!

Day Miles: 3.8 miles       Total Miles: 319.1 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.