Building site

Or rubbish tip - take your choice.  Next door's work in progress. 

The really sad thing is that the gutters which you see in the foreground were only installed, as was their brand new roof, a couple of years ago.  Their contractor did a completely inferior job, lost his building licence and went bankrupt.  Which of course left our neighbours well out of pocket.  That's why this time around they have chosen an upscale builder, who has an excellent reputation, to do a proper reno.

The back story to this shot is that I wanted a different view of their yard without going into the street.  I know, I thought, I'll take a pic through the kitchen window.  Which involved opening said windows (for the first time in 10 years) removing the fly screens, and leaning forward, over the sink somewhat precariously.  (Don't worry Rower, the cat was nowhere in sight).

And realising that the windows were so utterly filthy you can't see through them.  So, also for the first time in 10 years I cleaned what I could reach.  Which wasn't a lot but was at least the lower half.

If I might give a recommendation here - never ever buy a house with diamond pane windows, set into real timber.  They are virtually uncleanable.  If I had the money, I'd rip them out and put in single sash windows that you can get at.

And I've come to realise that housework and me are not friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.