jwatton

By jwatton

Game on

Looking forward to the Six Nations rugby starting next week. Being Welsh, most of my supporting life has been miserable. As a boy I grew up just a few years too late for the Golden Years of the early 70s. And the recent Grand Slam successes are just anomalies in 3 decades of disappointment. Which means I always enter each competition with fairly low expectations.

Of course, the other angle to the tournament is enjoying England lose. It's a peculiar trait of the Welsh that we have an instinctive hatred of English rugby but happily support English football. We're trying to have it both ways I guess. That said, being an "outsider"; to English rugby means I also revel in the "dawn of a new era, we're future world champions etc." discussions about England's season. Something I fail to spot as an "insider" when similarly applied to the English football team.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.